Resources and Links

In this section, you will find links to a variety of resources that you may find useful in your practice.

Children, Youth & Families

Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development- http://www.gov.nl.ca/cyfs/index.html

Child Welfare League of Canada – http://www.cwlc.ca/

Childcare Resource and Research Unit - http://childcarecanada.org/

First Nations Child & Family Caring Society – http://www.fncaringsociety.com/

United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child - http://www.ohchr.org/EN/ProfessionalInterest/Pages/CRC.aspx

 

Community Development

International Association for Community Development – http://www.iacdglobal.org/

National Occupational Standards for Community Development – http://www.communitydevelopmentworkforcewales.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/NOS_CD_EngINT.pdf

New Economics Foundation – http://www.neweconomics.org/

Tamarack Institute for Community Engagement- http://tamarackcommunity.ca/

The Community Toolbox – http://ctb.ku.edu/en/default.aspx

Age-Friendly Rural and Remote Communities Guide - http://www.swsd.gov.nl.ca/grants/age_friendly.html

 

Community Organizations & Networks in Newfoundland and Labrador

Canadian Mental Health Association NL – http://www.cmhanl.ca/

Choices for Youth - http://www.choicesforyouth.ca/

Coalition Against Violence Avalon East – http://www.coalitionagainstviolence.ca/

Community Sector Council NL – http://www.communitysector.nl.ca/

Food First NL - http://www.foodfirstnl.ca/

NAVNET - http://navnetnl.ca/about/

Newfoundland & Labrador Foster Families Association – http://www.nlffa.ca/

Newfoundland & Labrador Housing & Homelessness Network - http://www.nlhhn.org/

Newfoundland & Labrador Lung Association - http://www.nf.lung.ca/

Newfoundland & Labrador Public Health Association - http://www.nlpha.ca/

Newfoundland & Labrador Smoker’s Helpline – http://www.smokershelp.net/

Practice NL - http://www.practicenl.ca/

Stella Burry Community Services - http://www.stellaburry.ca/

 

General

Information for Practice - http://ifp.nyu.edu/

 

Governments & Health Authorities

Government of Newfoundland and Labrador – http://www.gov.nl.ca/

Nunatsiavut Government – http://www.nunatsiavut.com/

Eastern Health – http://www.easternhealth.ca/

Central Health – http://www.centralhealth.nl.ca/

Labrador-Grenfell – http://www.lghealth.ca/

Western Health – http://westernhealth.nl.ca/

 

Legislation

Adult Protection Act - http://assembly.nl.ca/Legislation/sr/statutes/a04-01.htm

Child and Youth Care and Protection Act - http://www.assembly.nl.ca/legislation/sr/statutes/c12-2.htm

Human Rights Act - http://assembly.nl.ca/Legislation/sr/statutes/h13-1.htm

Mental Health Care and Treatment Act - http://www.assembly.nl.ca/legislation/sr/statutes/m09-1.htm

Personal Health Information Act - http://www.assembly.nl.ca/legislation/sr/statutes/p07-01.htm

Social Workers Act - http://www.assembly.nl.ca/legislation/sr/statutes/s17-2.htm

Also see:

House of Assembly - http://www.assembly.nl.ca/

 

Multiculturalism

Association for New Canadians - http://www.ancnl.ca/

Women’s Multicultural Organization NL - http://www.mwonl.org/

Office of Immigration and Multiculturalism - http://www.nlimmigration.ca/

 

On-Line Journals

The Journal of Social Work Values and Ethics - http://www.socialworker.com/jswve/

The New Social Worker - http://www.socialworker.com/home/index.php

 

Research

Health Research Ethics Authority - http://www.hrea.ca/home.aspx

 

Seniors

Department of Health & Community Services - http://www.health.gov.nl.ca/health/seniors/index.html

Department of Children, Seniors and Social Development - http://www.swsd.gov.nl.ca/index.html

Seniors Resource Centre NL - http://www.seniorsresource.ca/

Alzheimer’s Society of Canada- http://www.alzheimer.ca/

Brainxchange - http://brainxchange.ca/Public/Home.aspx

 

Social Policy & Advocacy

Advocacy – Let’s Keep Kids Out of Hospitals http://www.cheo.on.ca/english/4220.shtml

Campaign 2000 - http://www.campaign2000.ca/

Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives - http://www.policyalternatives.ca/

Canadian Council on Social Development - http://www.ccsd.ca/

Conference Board of Canada - http://www.conferenceboard.ca/

Dignity for All: The Campaign for A Poverty Free Canada - http://www.dignityforall.ca/

Disability Policy Office NL - http://www.swsd.gov.nl.ca/disabilities/

National Collaborating Centre for Determinants of Health - http://www.nccdh.ca/

Newfoundland & Labrador Poverty Reduction Strategy - http://www.swsd.gov.nl.ca/poverty/index.html

 

Social Work Boards and Associations

Association of Social Work Boards – http://www.aswb.org/

Canadian Association of Social Workers - http://www.casw-acts.ca/

International Federation of Social Workers – http://www.ifsw.org/

National Association of Social Workers - http://www.socialworkers.org/

Canadian Council of Social Work Regulators -  http://www.ccswr-ccorts.ca

 

Social Work Education

Canadian Association for Social Work Education - http://caswe-acfts.ca/home/

Memorial University School of Social Work - http://www.mun.ca/socwrk/home/